Skip navigation

I may forget the promises you made, the words you spoke

But I will remember, the ripples, in my dead heart they evoked

 

I may forget the journeys we made, the places we visited

But I will remember, how you took my hand in yours, when we were seated

 

I may forget the times we fought, parted with bitterness

But I will remember, how gently, later, my face you caressed

 

I may forget if we ever spoke of an uncertain future, a tomorrow that may not come

But I remember you easing my fears, as in my ear, you whispered those tranquilizing hums

 

I wish I could and would forget, all at once, let it go

Yet, I keep struggling, attempting, to find a way to do so

Leave a Reply

