Skip navigation

I am not stubborn

I’ve just been submissive

For far too long

Being exploited all along

 

I am not adamant

I’m just tired of

Yielding every time

For no reason or rhyme

 

I am not obstinate

It’s just high time

I took a stand

As opposed to – withstand

 

I’m not obdurate

I am just weary

Of being burnt in the pyre

Or stuck in this quagmire

 

I’m not callous

But there needs to be

A line drawn somewhere

I ought to not care

 

I’m not hardened

Just that I have seen

Things go wrong

Because I wasn’t strong

 

So brand me apathetic

Or adjudge me as cold

I need to raise my voice

To be heard over the noise

4 Comments

  1. I like it. It’s always a fine balance between self-determination and sociability.

    • Seconded. Though most tend to be inclined towards sociability, sadly.
      And I’ve been reading Utopia by Thomas More too. A great perspective put forth.

  2. I enjoyed the contrasts in this.


Leave a Reply

