Skip navigation

It was what I wanted

What I always sought

Yet when I could grasp it

Satiate me it did not

 

An exaggerated fancy

Which seemed to fall apart

The way I had pictured it

This should’ve been a fresh start

 

Yet an emptiness so hollow

Engulfs me now

Drowns my supposed joy

Leaving me to wonder how

 

The picture that I painted

Was meant to last

Not vanish like a dream

Slip away so fast

 

Maybe it’s always the case

When fantasy clashes with reality

It was only in my imagination

That this seemed perfectly pretty

 

Call me fickle if you may

For these passing phases

It’s only the unattainable

That my finicky mind chases

2 Comments

  1. So well done, beautiful poem.


Leave a Reply

